TUCSON, AZ – Darrell Midgley wrapped up his 2016 race season with an 11th place finish at Tucson Speedway Saturday night. The Sidney, British Columbia driver was the only Canadian in the field for the 2nd annual Turkey Shoot 125 Super Late Model race. “It was a real good race. We brought the car home in one piece.” Earlier in the day Midgley qualified the Northern Provincial Pipelines/Alien Chassis #81 Dodge in 8th.


“We had the balance on the car so much better this time. But we did use up the right front tire a little more than we wanted to. That really hurt us in the end.” Early in the race, Midgley, along with Littleton, Colorado’s Kyle Ray and Davenport, Iowa’s Ron Norman broke away from the field. With Norman leading the way on Lap 46, Midgley took away the second spot from Ray. Just four laps later, Midgley took over the race lead. The lead for Midgley was brief however as Norman regained top spot just one lap later. On Lap 52 Ray took back second, dropping Midgley to third. “I just went a little too early (in this race)”, admits Midgley, “I should have held back a little longer and saved my tires.” This three-car battle then turned into a four-car tilt as Greely, Colorado’s Brett Yackey began pressuring Midgley hard. The two drivers swapped third and fourth several times over the next ten laps. Yackey would get by Midgley for good on Lap 70. “We were all pretty equal in the race,” adds Midgley, “they were running the high side. I was staying on the bottom.” Midgley would fall out of the top 5 on Lap 77 and then the top 10 on Lap 104. “We lost a lot of track position near the end of the race but we learned so much here tonight. I know we’re heading in the right direction.” The race was won by 2016 Tucson Speedway track champion Brandon Schilling of Tucson, Arizona. Midgley, the 2016 NPP Late Model Series Champion, says his race season is now over and its time for a break. “We are back here (in Tucson) for the Chilly Willy race in February.”

> Saturday, November 26th, 2016
1. #20 Brandon Schilling – Tucson, Arizona
2. #22 Paul Banghart – Tucson, Arizona
3. # 9 Ron Norman – Davenport, Iowa
4. #29 Keith Lopez – Tucson, Arizona
5. #12 Bruce Yackey – Greely, Colorado
6. #25 Brandon Farrington – Tucson, Arizona
7. #58 Kyle Ray – Littleton, Colorado
8. #32 Brett Yackey – Greely, Colorado
9. #21 Don Zoll Jr. – Surprise, Arizona
10.#11 Michael Egurola – Tucson, Arizona
11.#81 Darrell Midgley – Sidney, British Columbia
12.#14 Vanessa Robinson – La Cruces, New Mexico
13.#39 Brian Harrington Jr. – Tucson, Arizona
14.# 5 Trent Phillips – Hemingford, Nebraska
15.#92 Gary Clift – Henderson, Nevada
16.#51 Sean Bray – Tucson, Arizona
17.#26 Dylan Jones – Tucson, Arizona
18.#27 Jay Beasley – Las Vegas, Nevada
19.#16 Dustin Jones – Tucson, Arizona
20.#34 Rudy Vanderwall – LaSalle, Colorado
21.#88 John Lashley – Tucson, Arizona