TUCSON, AZ – A small letter ‘B’ skillfully created out of duct tape, along with different colored nose cone trim, was all that differentiated the Team NPP #81 Dodges on the weekend. You couldn’t help but feel a little bit of empathy for the Tucson Speedway track announcer when these two cars hit the track at the 3rd annual Chilly Willy 150 on Friday and Saturday night. Darrell Midgley was making his third trip to Tuscon Speedway. Jason Frost was making his debut at the southern Arizona track. Both Midgley (qualified 18th) and Frost (qualified 29th) competed in the same Friday night Heat race. A fourth and fifth place finish locked both drivers into the Saturday night Feature.

(photo: Mandy Love Photos)

Darrell Midgley started the Chilly Willy 150 in the 18th position. “We were in tire saving mode at the beginning and that worked well for us.” By lap 65 Midgley moved into the top 10. “We got as high as sixth,” exclaims the Sidney, British Columbia driver, “but then I ran over something on the track and the front right tire started to unwind.” By Lap 100 Midgley had dropped to 17th. “We just rode around out there for the last part of the race. The tire separated at the end. I’m surprised I actually finished.” Midgley finished 24th. Midgley’s team mate Jason Frost started Saturday nights Feature in the 22nd spot. “This was my first competitive race in the US since 1999,” admits the Victoria, British Columbia driver, “we were only running a limited Late Model with a crate engine [in Tucson]. Everyone else had way more horsepower than us.” The Western Speedway 1996 Late Model Season Champion had some strategy going into his first ever race at Tuscon Speedway. “It’s a rough track that’s hard on tires. I know we couldn’t catch the leaders but we’d give guys maybe 10th on back a bit of a challenge if we raced smart.” Saving his tires till the halfway point, Frost took the cue from his spotter. “About lap 75 we decided to start making our move forward. I felt we had the right game plan going in. We actually gained several spots but then lapped traffic got us.” Frost and another driver came together on Lap 86. “Lots of front end damage. Came into the pits and had the crew pull the fender off and then went back out under caution. We lost oil pressure [while back on the track] so I shut the car off and glided back into the pits.” Frost would be credited with a 30th place finish. Team NPP has a few weeks off and is undecided as to its next race. Midgley is expected to make the decision by the end of next week. “Kern County Speedway has a big event later this month [February 28th]. This is one of the races we are considering.” Midgley finished 13th at the inaugural Winter Showdown 250 last year. “If we don’t attend this race there are two other races we are considering.” The Madera Speedway 125 in Madera, California is scheduled for March 12th. All American Speedway in Roseville, California hosts a big Super Late Model show on April 16th. The 2016 season of the Northern Provincial Pipelines Late Model Series starts May 28th at Castrol Raceway in Edmonton. Midgley is the defending season champion.

>SATURDAY, February 6th, 2016
1. #07 Chuck Wares – Tucson, Arizona
2. #11 Dustin Ash – Las Vegas, Nevada
3. #12 Bruce Yackey – Greely, Colorado
4. #27 Gracin Raz – Lake Oswego, Oregon
5. # 8 Noah Gragson – Las Vegas, Nevada
6. #99 Linny White – Fontana, California
7. #77 Toni McCray – Highland, California
8. #26 Dylan Jones – Tucson, Arizona
9. #21 Blaine Rocha – Oakdale, California
10.# 3 Jason Irwin – Albuquerque, New Mexico
11.#63 Joe Paladenic – Sierra Vista, Arizona
12.#14 Vanessa Robinson – Las Cruces, New Mexico
13.#22 Paul Banghart – Tucson, Arizona
14.# 5 Trent Phillips – Hemingford, Nebraska
15.#75 Jeremy Doss – Upper Lake, California
16.#89 Bobby Hodges – Carson City, Nevada
17.#80 Victor Pfluger – Morristown, Arizona
18.#11 John Nesmith – Meridian, Idaho
19.#13 Ned Champine – Benson, Arizona
20.#09 Thane Alderman – Las Vegas, Nevada
21.# 8 Mariah McGriff – Vail, Arizona
22.#13 Jack Chisholm – Cranbrook, British Columbia
23.#34 Kayli Barker – Las Vegas, Nevada
24.#81 Darrell Midgley – Sidney, British Columbia
25.#74 Robert Scott – Cheyenne, Wyoming
26.#70 Chris Trickle – Las Vegas, Nevada
27.#71 Ron Searle Jr. – Tucson, Arizona
28.#21 Don Zoll Jr. – Phoenix, Arizona
29.#99 Bobby Erdman – Apache Junction, Arizona
30.#81 Jason Frost – Victoria, British Columbia
31.# 6 Dane Jorgenson – Tucson, Arizona
32.#66 Jeff Bischofberger – Tracy, California
33.#34 Rudy Vanderwal – LaSalle, Colorado
34.#16 Brandon Schilling – Tucson, Arizona