VICTORIA, BC – Jason Frost closed the gap on the front runners and gained one position in the standings after a decent Saturday night at Western Speedway.  The Victoria, BC driver moved from 6th to 5th in the 2019 The Keg Late Model Drivers Challenge Series championship points chase and now sits just 8 points back of fourth and just 23 points out of third.  For the second time in 2019 Frost qualified the Northern Provincial Pipelines Ltd./Saanich Braves Hockey Club #81 Dodge in the number 1 spot.  “We got the car going pretty good,” exclaims Frost, “we were really happy with the qualifying.”  His fast time unfortunately did not carry over to the Heat race.  Frost was off the pace by more than a half second from his qualifying time and finished 6th in his Heat.  “We were trying to find some more speed so we actually used the heat race as a bit of a test.  It didn’t really pan out.  We went back to the setup we had in the car for qualifying.”  In the first of two 50 lap Features Frost finished 6th.  “Right at the beginning of the race there was a spin in front of us and we ended up bumping the wall.  We finished that race with the alignment out of whack.  Luckily we were able to defend our position.”  In the second Saturday night 50 Lap Late Model Feature Frost spent a majority of this race running third.  “I had a bit of a slip coming out of turn four and Brandon (Carlson) was able to get his nose under me.”  Rory Smith was hard on the rear bumper of Carlson and also got by Frost.  “One little slip-up cost us two spots.”  In the end Frost finished the second Feature in the 5th position.  The Keg Late Model Drivers Challenge Series has seen six different Feature winners in 2019.  Spencer Carlson and Aaron Wilkie were the Saturday night Feature winners.  Brandon Carlson, who on occasion pilots a Team NPP Super Late Model, took over the points lead after finishing second in the second 50 lap Feature at Western Speedway.  Just one race night remains in the 2019 The Keg Late Model Drivers Challenge.  The season champion will be crowned on Saturday, August 10th.

– current point standings as of July, 13
1. #14 Brandon Carlson – 499
2. #16 Rory Smith – 493
3. #10 Wes Mader – 480
4. #22 Mike Haslam – 465
5. #81 Jason Frost – 457
6. #11 Gary Smith – 411
7. #21 Rob Angus – 398
8. # 5 Dave Smith – 396
9. #77 Bud Hobbs – 387
10.#41 Spencer Carlson – 307